Spain and Ireland to recognise Palestinian state on 21 May

Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanches said that Spain and Ireland have agreed to take the steps towards recognising Palestinian statehood [GETTY]

Spain, Ireland, and other European Union member countries plan to recognise a Palestinian state on 21 May, the EU’s foreign policy chief, Josep Borrell, said late Thursday. This comes ahead of an expected UN vote on Friday on a Palestinian bid to become a full member.

Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez said in March that Spain and Ireland, along with Slovenia and Malta, had agreed to take the first steps towards recognition of a Palestinian state alongside Israel, seeing a two-state solution as essential for lasting peace.

Asked on local Spanish radio station RNE if 21 May was when Spain, Ireland and other EU countries would recognise a Palestinian state, Borrell said yes, mentioning Slovenia as well.

“This is a symbolic act of a political nature. More than a state, it recognises the will for that state to exist,” he said, adding that Belgium and other countries would probably follow.

Previously, Spanish Foreign Minister Jose Manuel Albares had said the decision on recognition had been made, although he did not give a date.

International calls for a ceasefire and permanent end to the war on Gaza have grown along with the death toll from Israel’s offensive in Gaza, which has since killed over 34,000 Palestinians.

Israel has said plans for Palestinian recognition constitute a “prize for terrorism” that would reduce the chances of a negotiated resolution to the Gaza war.

On Friday, the United Nations General Assembly is set to back a Palestinian bid to become a full UN member by recognising it as qualified to join and sending the application back to the UN Security Council to “reconsider the matter favourably.”

Ireland’s national broadcaster RTE said on Thursday that Spain, Ireland, Slovenia and Malta had been waiting for the UN vote and were considering a joint recognition on 21 May.

A spokesperson for the Spanish Foreign Ministry did not immediately respond to a request for comment. The other countries did not immediately comment on the date.

Slovenian Prime Minister Robert Golob said earlier this week his country would recognise Palestine’s statehood by mid-June.

Since 1988, 139 of 193 UN member states have recognised Palestinian statehood.


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *